Keeper of Lore

The Demon Plague Verses Chapter 4, Part 3

The people were amazed when
the dragon changed her form.
She now appeared as human
and no longer a wyrm.

She walked into the village
clothed in robe and large pack.
She greeted Tong warmly and
then unburdened her back.

Tong announced, “Welcome
to Shatterbone, dear
friend, Keeper of Lore.”

“Greetings, Tong. Let us
go to your hall for
I have urgent news.”

Tong introduced to Keeper
both Billet and Vilerend.
He explained the Demon Plague
that these two sought to mend.

She said, “That makes much
sense. You see, I was
attacked when I left.”

“As I stepped out of
my home, several
wizards struck with spells.”

“I quickly slew them
all, save one. I did
interrogate him.”

“He said they belong
to the Stormcraft Cult,
run by Fern Quickstream.”

“They must come from the
village of Stormcraft
some days south of here.”

“They were sent to kill
me before I could
aid you with my lore.”

“Fern knows that you are
seeking to undo
her crime and heal death.”

“She has gathered a
fierce cult with her same
goal: eternal life.”

Tong then spoke of Soul Slicer,
her brother, and his chains.
Fern told him that his freedom
was gone and hope was vain.

For nought but a Soul Hammer
could free him from his plight.
This they knew and nothing more,
for aid was out of sight.

This tablet could hold a clue
but no one could read it.
Perhaps Keeper could translate
with the texts in her kit?

Keeper of Lore had some scrolls
with which Tong could make use.
He could read the tablet and
a translation produce.

Tong worked tirelessly all night
with great vigor and glee.
For ancient things are his most
favorite things to study.

In the morning, Tong sent a
messenger to the inn.
Keeper, Billet and Vilerend
were met by Tong's proud grin.

“I have the answer.
The text has revealed
another puzzle.”

“Come inside and read
the bewildering
Soul Hammer Tablet.

#demon-plague-verses